Herbal Holy Trinity

ImageThe Holy Trinity

‘Tis the holiday season and it’s also the season for stress, which could lead to contracting a cold or flu.  I myself just experienced a doozie of a cold that put me out for almost a week.  Rather than looking at this cold as a hindrance, I take any injury or illness as an opportunity to go deeper into my explorations in herbal medicine.   In playing in the herb cabinet over the past week, a powerful remedy was revealed to me that has now established itself as my healing holy trinity.  This trinity of herbs turned my two-week cold into a five-day cold by accelerating my body’s healing process.

Ill tell you about three herbs, two of which you probably know and one of which you might not.   First I would like to say however that I am a simpler at heart with my herbs – meaning I like to use one herb at a time to really get to know it.  With this cold through, I also realize that there is power and numbers and sometimes it takes a team rather than any one individual to complete a task properly.

The plants are our allies in taking care of our and I encourage you if you’ve never explored plant medicine there is no better time than the present to begin.  Read below to find out my Gold, Frankincense and Myrrh so to speak that keeps my body holy, healthy and sensuous embodied health.

Groggy and rolling out of bed with a sore throat and a headache I stumbled to my herb cabinet on Monday morning and pulled together these three herbs that leapt out from the shelf when I asked for help.

Elderberry is a grandmother medicine and holds an entire medicine chest in her healing properties including being an excellent anti-cold and anti-flu tonic.  Her powers support a healthy heart as well as being anti-viral and anti-bacterial. http://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-elderberry.html

Echinacea – I use to help boost immunity and increase my white blood cell count to support my body’s natural ability to heal itself.  Echinacea is like putting ones body in an express lane of healing rather than going on the local route.  It accelerates the overall healing journey.  Avoid Echinacea if I had an autoimmune disorder like MS or rheumatoid arthritis.   http://www.3fatchicks.com/8-benefits-of-echinacea/

Osha Root – is a new discovery for me.  I generally use plants that are easy to harvest and I have collected myself.  However, I ordered some dried Osha root last year which I made into a tincture (plant steeped in vodka alcohol for a minimum of 6 weeks) incase anyone in my presence went into anaphylactic shock or had a severe allergic reaction because I was aware Osha root stops histamine receptors for a short time.  However, on my groggy morning Osha kept leaping of the shelf asking me to use her as a support.  Osha Root grows in the Rocky Mountains but it is however an endangered plant due to over harvesting.   I use it seldom because there are other plants that can take its place for more regular use.  Osha is also called Bear Root and sometimes bear medicine.  Bears after awakening from hibernation will dig up this root and rub it all over their bodies.  It is a diaphoretic which makes the body sweat, but is also said to stimulate the appetite after a bear has awakened from a winter slumber.  Bears respond to it like cats to catnip.  Sometimes even male bears are seen digging it up and offering it in courtship to female bears.  Having bear as my spirit totem, I’m not surprised after this research that Osha wanted to step forward and help me with this cold.  Osha is great for upper respiratory support and clearing congestion on the body.   Osha is also antibacterial and antiviral and relieves coughs and inflammation in the throat and bronchial tubes.

http://www.doctorshealthpress.com/food-and-nutrition-articles/what-could-osha-root-do-for-you

To keep your body healthy and happy this holiday season I’ll have a few of my holy body trinity tincture blends available.  Please email me if you would like to reserve yours.  I’m making special blends of this tincture to be available at the Sensual Woman’s Soiree and Holy Body Worship this season for $10, less than you would pay in a store and all handmade homemade tinctures.

Happy to Heal and Help Heal,

Isis Phoenix

http://www.sensualshaman.com

 

Leave a Reply

